2017 Artists


Anna Reider


Anna Reider, violin, is first violinist of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and concert mistress of the Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra.


Helen Hwaya Kim


Helen Hwaya Kim, violin, made her orchestral debut with the Calgary Philharmonic at the age of six, and has gone on to become a respected and sought-after artist. She is the full violin professor at Kennesaw State University.


Ashley Sidon

Cellist, Artistic Director

Ashley Sandor Sidon, cello, is the Artistic Director of Zenith Chamber Music Festival and the Brigg’s Endowed Professor of Cello at Drake University.


Sheldon Person


Sheldon Person, viola, is a member of the Houston Symphony.


Anthony Kitai


Anthony Kitai, cello, joined the Houston Symphony in 2001, serving as Acting Associate Principal Cellist from 2003-2005, and currently holds the third chair position.

Kelly Kuo


Kelly Kuo, piano, was the recipient of a 2009 Solti Foundation U.S. Career Assistance Award for young conductors.

Local Artists

Clarence Padilla


Clarence Padilla is a Professor of Music (clarinet) at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, where he also serves as the Music Department Chair. Professor Padilla has concertized, conducted and presented master classes across the United States in Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, California, Tennessee, Illinois, Wisconsin, Nevada, Michigan, Ohio, Kansas, Arizona and the District of Columbia. International performances and teaching presentations have been given in Brazil, France, China, Mexico, Germany and Austria. Clarence Padilla has been a regular member of the Des Moines Symphony since 2000, appeared as a clarinet soloist with the orchestra in 2013, and served as the Acting Principal Clarinet for the 2010-11 Concert Season.



Leslie Mars


Leslie Marrs is Associate Professor of Flute at Drake University. Dr. Marrs has performed as a chamber musician from the nation’s capital to New Delhi and Oxford, and has been featured as Soloist with the Bay View Festival Orchestra, University of North Carolina at Greensboro Orchestra, and the United States Army Field Band, and has been invited to perform at numerous National Flute Association conventions, including as a competition winner.




Edward Corpus


Edward Corpus, bass, hails from Elgin, Illinois. He attended Illinois State University and the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, where he earned the Bachelor of Music and Master of Music degrees, respectively. Mr. Corpus has completed coursework for the Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the University of Iowa.





Nicholas Roth


Hailed by the Indianapolis News as “a world of talent, displaying lyrical beauty, percussive driving power never out of control, and never without security and assurance,” pianist Nicholas Roth began his formal studies at age twelve, and was receiving critical acclaim for his appearances by the age of eighteen. He has appeared as soloist with the St. Louis Symphony and the Indianapolis Symphony under Raymond Leppard, among many others. Roth has been featured in recitals and festivals in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Germany, Serbia, and Spain, including the prestigious Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts Series of Chicago, the Irving S. Gilmore International Keyboard Festival, the Kalamazoo Bach Festival, and Sunday Afternoons Live from the Elvehjem in Madison, Wisconsin. An avid collaborative pianist, he has performed with premier chamber ensembles such as the Cypress String Quartet, Euclid String Quartet, Felici Piano Trio, and vocalist Cheryl Studer.



Patricia Weitzel

string bass

Patricia Weitzel has performed chamber recitals throughout the United States, Europe, and Brazil. She holds a bachelor degree from the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, where she studied with Dr. Fausto Borem, a Master of Music Performance Degree from The University of Southern Mississippi, where her primary teacher was Dr. Marcos Machado, and a Doctor of Musical Arts Degree from The University of Iowa, where she studied with Professor Volkan Orhon. Other teachers include Catalin Rotaru, Ed Barker and Matthew McDonald.